Day 12

This is my second week of level 1 Atkins and I weighed in at 201.0. That’s 6 pound loss in just under two weeks! I decided to remain at the ultra-low carbohydrate level because it just felt like the right thing for my body. I have yet to have a negative reaction in any way but starting next week I will be adding 5 grams of carbohydrates per day, mostly because I’m not sure if my husband can mentally handle trying to make meal decisions for both of us. I think I will stick with the extra 5 carbs/day for a couple weeks, testing different vegetables each day to see how they affect my blood sugar and weight loss.

After going through my carbohydrate counter book, I have come up with a list of vegetables I would like to include in my diet (if I can find them all). I chose these because they had some of the lowest carbohydrate counts, thus allowing me to add more fiber and natural nutrition to my diet.

Alfalfa Sprouts: 1/2 c. (1/2 oz) – .5 carbs

Artichoke Hearts: 2 pieces, plain – 3 carbs

Asparagus: 3 spears – 2 carbs

Bamboo Shoots: 1/2 c. (2 oz) – 1 carb

Bok Choy: 3 oz – 1.5 carbs

Brocco Sprouts: 1/2 c. (1 oz) – 2 carbs

Cabbage: 1 leaf, large (1 oz) – 2 carbs

Chicory Greens: 1 c. (1 oz) – 1.5 carbs

Mushrooms: Raw, 1 med. (.6 oz) – .5 carbs
Mushrooms: Raw, 1 large (3/4 oz) – 1 carb
Mushrooms: Raw, 1/2 c. pieces (1 1/4 oz) – 1 carb

Mustard Greens: Raw, 1/2 c. (1 oz) – 2 carbs

Pumpkin Flowers: 1 c. (1.2 oz) – 1 carb

Shallots: chopped, 1 Tablespoon (1/2 oz) – 1 carb

Turnip Greens: cooked, 1/2 c. (2 1/2 oz) – 3 carbs

Water Chestnuts: canned, 1 oz – 3 carbs

Yardlong Bean: 1 pod (1/2 oz) – 1 carb

Zucchini: Raw, slices, 1/2 c. (3 oz) – 4 carbs

Remember: I count total carbohydrates in food, not net carbs.

Leave a Reply

