Maria Kang and the “What’s Your Excuse?” Controversy

I, as you can see, tend to have a strong opinion. This “controversy” that is sweeping through the local (and now national) news is a disturbing example of what is wrong with this country. People (mostly women) are up in arms over this photo.

And what is wrong with this photo?  Women are viewing her as being judgmental.  Does this photo REALLY show that?  I don’t think so!  I think this photo shows what can be accomplished with determination and the proper nutritional and fitness education designed for your body.  This photo was originally included on this page from her website.  Apparently, the controversy began last year and has since resurfaced.

http://www.mariakang.com/2013/09/18/maria-kangs-fitness-evolutio/

Maria Kang recently posted her non-apology for this photo on Facebook:

I’ve been getting an influx of new followers, emails and comments (on my profile pic) recently. Some saying I’m a bully, I’m fat-shaming and I need to apologize for the hurt I’ve caused women. I get it. SO here’s my First and Final Apology:

I’m sorry you took an image and resonated with it in such a negative way. I won’t go into details that I struggled with my genetics, had an eating disorder, work full time owning two business’, have no nanny, am not naturally skinny and do not work as a personal trainer. I won’t even mention how I didn’t give into cravings for ice cream, french fries or chocolate while pregnant or use my growing belly as an excuse to be inactive.

What I WILL say is this. What you interpret is not MY fault. It’s Yours. The first step in owning your life, your body and your destiny is to OWN the thoughts that come out of your own head. I didn’t create them. You created them. So if you want to continue ‘hating’ this image, get used to hating many other things for the rest of your life. You can either blame, complain or obtain a new level of thought by challenging the negative words that come out of your own brain.

With that said, obesity and those who struggle with health-related diseases is literally a ‘bigger’ issue than this photo. Maybe it’s time we stop tip-toeing around people’s feelings and get to the point. So What’s Your Excuse? – Maria Kang

And THAT is what is wrong with this country. There is an ingrained lack of personal responsibility that is disgustingly prevalent throughout most age ranges. This isn’t reserved for the young or those in their 30’s. I see it in people who are much older than I am and it makes me sick. Do I blame my Buddha belly or type 2 Diabetes on genetics or age or anyone else? No, I blame it on my lazy eating and lack of physical activity. Did you see that? It was my thoughts and actions that brought me to the point where food was killing me. It wasn’t the massive amounts of advertising geared toward children when I was young. It wasn’t the fact that I preferred to play video games than exercise (yes, I was awesome at Pong!).  It wasn’t the fact that I, too, would routinely eat just french fries for lunch in high school because it was the cheapest “meal” there. It was all me, baby! I decided my body was god-like and I could do whatever I wanted to it without any repercussions. The result was ultimately being over 100 pounds above my ideal weight, developing too-numerous-to-list allergies, asthma, type 2 Diabetes, sciatica, tendonitis, and issues with my ankles, knees and hips.  All this and I’ll only be 45 this year.  I’m telling you, when I decide to do something, I do it right!  Well, August was my wake-up call and I’m taking charge (and responsibility) for my body and my mind.  I will not now, nor ever, blame anyone else for my actions or lack of action.  My health, happiness and future are in my hands.  I refuse to give up control to any other entity and neither should you.  So, stop with the excuses and the blame game.  Take action or shut the hell up and let those of us who want to improve our lives get on with it.

3 thoughts on “Maria Kang and the “What’s Your Excuse?” Controversy

  1. It’s not the picture that makes fat people feel bad. It’s the caption. That’s all. All she had to do was say something nicer than “What’s your excuse?” She could have said something like, “With hard work, you can accomplish anything.” and then it would have been more inspirational rather than condescending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

