The Roll of Low Calorie Sweeteners in Weight Management

I can’t tell you how many times throughout the years that I have heard (read) that studies have shown a blood sugar spike when low calorie sweeteners are used.  Most of the time, I didn’t read the studies cited because, to be brutally honest, they were too long, too technical for my state of mind at the time, and frankly, I didn’t really care (obviously, this was pre-diagnosis).  Well, no, that’s not true.  Before I discovered I had type 2, I refused to use any artificial sweeteners (added chemicals, you know).  I figured it was better to use as much natural ingredients as I could.  I used mostly honey and unsulfured molasses (with cane sugar thrown in for good measure).  Then, today, I read this:

http://www.nationalobesityforum.org.uk/media/PDFs/theroleoflcssinweightmanagement.pdf

The researchers found that GLP-1 secretion was increased by 43% with the LCS-sweetened beverage compared with the carbonated water in those with type 1, but not type 2 diabetes.

Did you read that? Type 1, not type 2 diabetes! I did not see any differentiation in any of the headlines (or paragraphs) I have read all these years. Now, I know that certain types of artificial sweeteners CAN have a negative blood sugar response in some people (sugar alcohols) but it’s nice to know that (despite the observations of my own blood sugar reactions to Splenda and the occasional Aspartame consumption) that I should have read the dang studies all those years ago!

Leave a Reply

