Brussels Sprouts with Shallots and Wild Mushrooms

I know … another recipe for Brussels sprouts. I try to vary my posts but there are times when I get obsessed (these just happen to arrive in my inbox and I say, “Oooh!”). I’ve been thinking about green bean casserole (one of those things I loved and am whining about because I “can’t” have it). While this isn’t the same thing, it’s a different take on Brussels sprouts and that’s what I like.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Brussels-Sprouts-with-Shallots-and-Wild-Mushrooms-236410

For brussels sprouts

3 lb Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved lengthwise
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tablespoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt

For shallots
1 cup vegetable oil
1/2 lb large shallots (about 6), cut crosswise into 1/8-inch-thick slices and separated into rings (2 1/2 cups)

For mushrooms
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter
1 1/4 lb mixed fresh wild mushrooms such as chanterelle and oyster, trimmed, quartered if large
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup water

Leave a Reply

