Thanksgiving Dinner

I’ve been thinking about this for a while (well, since I shared that post from my friend who celebrated Canadian Thanksgiving).  Even though this isn’t anywhere near the food we used to make on holidays, this will be the most variety I will have eaten in one sitting.  Now that I compare this to what we used to make, I can’t believe we are still alive!  LOL!

So this is our menu:

Turkey, brined, then cooked on the barbecue over mesquite charcoal.

Cranberry Raspberry Salad (this recipe with Splenda instead of sugar, sugar-free raspberry jello, no pineapple, and no cream cheese topping … I’m still saving that to try no sugar cheesecake) http://www.food.com/recipe/cranberry-salad-in-raspberry-jello-with-cream-cheese-topping-80121. Hmmm … maybe I’ll see if I can find some sugar-free pineapple jello to add to this (doesn’t that sound good?).

Low Carb Pumpkin Pie with the pecan crust (saw one recipe where you add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa powder to the crust … might try that variation for the cheesecake)

And roasted Brussels sprouts (in addition to my A.D.D. with crafts and such, I get that way with food. Now, Brussels sprouts are all I want).  For these, we just cut them in half, toss with some olive oil, spread them on a baking tray, sprinkle with salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese then bake at 425 degrees F until dark around the edges.

For hubby and son, mashed potatoes and gravy.

I’m not even going to attempt to make fake candied yams (or yams in general). I know me, “Just one bite won’t hurt” then I’m scarfing bites in the middle of the night like a little kid with Halloween candy.

So, after typing all this out, I don’t feel so “deprived” this year.  That’s a awful lot of food for 2, maybe 3, people.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Dinner

  1. We will be going to a church friends house for Thanksgiving, as is tradition in our family. This year we grew the turkeys! 🙂 I’m going to take some cauliflower to make mashed fauxtatoes, and I found a delicious LC crustless chocolate cheesecake and a LC pumpkin cheesecake that I think I’m going to make to bring as well. It’s going to be a challenge since I’m still very new to Atkins! (13 days today! :-O) Glad I found your blog! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sounds fantastic! One thing that has helped me immensely is changing the self-talk in my head. It’s not, “I CAN’T” have that. I tell myself, “I don’t WANT that”. Heck, in the beginning, I would force myself to make that disgusted look every time I saw foods that were not on plan. I know I’m having a bad time when I start whining and feeling sorry for myself because of whatever I’m not eating (Halloween was awful this year and I’m not sure why). Congratulations for growing your own turkeys! I can’t wait until we can (still in town … 5 more years and this house will be paid off, then we head for the hills!).

      Like

      1. I started the day after Halloween. My daughter scored half a pillow case of candy. O.O
        She would offer me some (and still does on occasion) forgetting that I had started Atkins. In years past I would have raided all the tootsie rolls out of her stash before she ever woke up the next morning! LOL
        We bought our house, knowing that we wouldn’t be here forever, with the idea of raising chickens and having a garden. We still have a garden and raise chickens, but we also added some turkey this year for Thanksgiving, and some rabbits for meat as well. It’s been an adventure to say the least! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

