Altering Clothes As We Get Smaller

So, I think I’ve mentioned it before but hubby is losing inches along with me. It’s so bad (good) that our favorite shorts (yes, we both wear the same kind) are completely falling off of him and mine will once I lose a little more lower belly/hip. I love these shorts! They are cargo shorts we bought at Costco, so we’ll just have to hope and pray they carry them again next year so we can get some smaller ones. We both hate (and I mean HATE) wearing belts. So, I’ve been wracking my brain since yesterday to figure out how to fix these shorts so we can continue to wear them. I refuse to purchase all new clothes. To be brutally honest, it wouldn’t cost me that much. My clothing, like my actual menu, is very dull. I wear a handful of T-shirts, tank tops, shorts, and bounce between two pair of pants. But all of this got me thinking about how to properly alter all our clothing so we don’t HAVE to purchase new until we are ready for it.

For our shorts/pants, I turned to my favorite pair of pants: BDUs. While I don’t mind “cargo pants”, official BDUs have always been my favorite pants to wear. The pockets are roomy, they hardly shrink at all, and the fit is perfect if you are in any way curvy. Standard BDUs have adjustable waists due to the fact that it’s easier to make one pant that will fit multiple sizes than each individual size (and we all know that once a person finishes basic training, they tend to have lost weight). I have always hated tucking my shirts into my pants … always. I was going to pull up a picture of when I was little to show the one time that I did but even then, none of my shirts were tucked in. See? Dang … aside from some bangs my hair is the same!

me

Anyway, if you have never seen a BDU waistband, this is how the waist is adjusted:

khaki-f5201xx250-waist-v1

It’s just a strip of heavy duty grosgrain ribbon threaded through a belt loop. I don’t have any idea if I can get those belt loops at the fabric store or not (anyone know?). I don’t think it’s unsightly in any way but while Googling I found more stylish options.

On this page they discuss the style pictured and one that has an actual belt buckle. All three of these options require one waist adjuster on each side of the pant.
http://www.permanentstyle.co.uk/2010/12/reader-question-trouser-waists.html#.UoeAjuJCyz4

There’s also this option, using button hole elastic and buttons inside the waist band but the idea of have buttons gouging into my waist all day doesn’t make me jump for joy:
http://www.frugalupstate.com/crafts-diy/tutorial-add-an-adjustable-waist-to-any-pants/

Now, take a look at these Levi jeans:

http://denimhunters.com/az/detailsback

It’s one adjuster, in the back. I bet that would add a little volume to the posterior if you are lucky enough to have a flat behind (like me).

O.k. Now that I’ve went on and on about pants, here are a few links that discuss how to alter the rest of your wardrobe (Warning: you will need to know how to actually sew to do these):

At this link, a little over half way down, the user tcsewhat was a tailor and offers some suggestions:
http://artisanssquare.com/sg/index.php?topic=16795.0

This one goes into a little more detail about how to alter clothing (without tearing the whole item apart):
http://www.ehow.com/how_6012095_alter-clothing-size-18-12.html

And this one (starting about 1/4 of the way down) does discuss tearing the whole item apart:
http://www.survivalblog.com/2013/04/sewing-mending-and-altering-your-clothing-after-the-ball-drops-by-belle.html

I hope this will help you to continue on your weight loss journey without getting clothing-inspired depression.

4 thoughts on “Altering Clothes As We Get Smaller

  1. I am looking forward to having to alter some clothes! I actually have clothes all the way from a size 3, all the way up to a size 16!! (I have a REALLY big closet! LOL)

    Like

      1. Lol yes i know. I, at 5’8 with a large bone structure weighed 125 pounds. I was actually pretty under weight. I don’t want to be that small again tho. I’m shooting for about 145ish.

        Like

Leave a Reply

