December 7, 2013 Update – Glad To Be Here

So, I’m 185. I didn’t measure today (neither my body nor my blood sugar). I have something else to say on my update post.

I found out something horrible yesterday that is still weighing on my soul. Someone that I’ve known for may years online was murdered. It wasn’t a drive-by nor home invasion. It was her estranged husband. He beat her and her 14 year old son, then shot them before killing himself. I found all this out from her mother, who is now mother to three more children, all under the age of 10 (http://thesustainablehome.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/domestic-violence-and-tragedy/).

21 years ago, that could have been my mom, raising my two boys and dealing with the death of her daughter at the hands of a controlling abuser. I’m just so thankful I finally saw that crazed “Charles Manson” look in his eyes and recognized if I didn’t flee one (or both of us) would be dead. I don’t remember myself being a “hysterical” person but I must have been a REALLY good liar because when I left, not many people (not even my dad) believed the situation I was in. They thought I was over-reacting or exaggerating. If it hadn’t been for my mom believing me I don’t think I’d be here today.

And this is all I have been thinking about. I’m grateful that I am still here. I am grateful that I have this struggle with health issues to deal with. I am grateful to be alive.

If you or someone you know is in an abusive relationship, you are not crazy. You are not the only one (there are many of us out there who just don’t talk about it). You need to truly see your situation for what it is. Think about what it’s doing to you and your children. Whether they are the victims or innocent bystanders this will have a profound influence on the kind of adults they become. They may abuse or be abused. You’ll never know until it’s too late. So, take a good look at your life and circumstances. Prepare and plan now. Tomorrow may be too late.

Leave a Reply

