MAKJ – Low Carb Cheesecake – Updated

2014-02-26_15-21-53_350

UPDATE: This time I used a 9-inch non spring form pan (I don’t know what they are called … the pan is like a tart pan but not fluted) and it’s not deep, so between the crust (I should have halved the crust recipe) and the filling, it went right to the rim.  Then, I spooned 2 teaspoons of Smucker’s Sugar-Free Boysenberry Jam in the middle, trying to be all fancy.  I swirled it out with a bamboo skewer and by the time I was done, I thought it looked like a boysenberry threw up on my cheesecake.  I have to say, the cooked version looks much better!

Low Carb Cheesecake
Makes 12 servings

Everything must be room temperature!

  • One Basic Nut Crust
  • 2 8-ounce packages of cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup Splenda (or your sweetener of choice … this is pourable Splenda)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest, plus 2 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice (or lime, this is optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

I used a 9-inch spring-form pan.  If you use a 10-inch, you might want to double the recipe for the filling. I never have parchment paper, so I just buttered the heck out of the bottom and sides of pan before baking my crust.  Make sure the crust is cool before filling.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Put a kettle of water onto boil.  We’ll be cooking this in a bain marie (the pan will be surrounded by boiling water while it bakes).  Find a pan large enough so your spring-form pan will sit on the bottom of the pan and not touch the sides (my spring-form is 10-inches and I had one 13 x 9 baking dish that would work.  Of course, it was the dirty one.  I had no idea the two pans would be slightly different in size).

Whip the cream cheese until fluffy.  Be sure to scrape the sides and bottom of bowl occasionally throughout this process.  You don’t want to be like me, pouring it into the baking dish, only to see large lumps of unincorporated cream cheese on the bottom of the bowl.

Slowly add sweetener (you don’t want it going all over the place) while the beating the cream cheese.  Beat until fluffy.  Add lemon zest and juice, vanilla, and salt. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.  SCRAPE THE BOWL and beat until fluffy.  Beat in sour cream SCRAPE … you get the picture.

Place a piece of aluminum foil around the bottom of your spring-form pan.  This will keep the boiling water from seeping into your cheesecake and making an awful mess.  Place the pan in your 13 x 9 inch baking dish.

Pour your cheesecake filling over your cooled crust.  Spread it evenly.  Place the baking dish in the oven, then fill the outside pan with the boiling water (until it comes up to half the height of your spring-form pan).  Push the rack into the oven and bake for 1 to 1/2 hours, until the cheesecake is set (be sure to check it often.  OR it might come out with a top that looks like George Hamilton’s skin).  Remove pan from water; let cool 20 minutes. Run a knife around edge; let cool completely.  Cover; chill overnight before serving.

This recipe has now been added to My Fitness Pal as “MAKJ Low Carb Cheesecake (no crust)” and “MAKJ Low Carb Cheesecake (with crust)”

Nutrition Without Crust or Jam (per serving):
Calories: 192 Carbohydrates: 3 Fat: 15 Protein: 5 Fiber:0

Nutrition Without Crust, With Jam (per serving):
Calories: 193 Carbohydrates: 3 Fat: 15 Protein: 5 Fiber:0

Nutrition With Crust, without Jam (per serving):
Calories: 327 Carbohydrates: 7 Fat: 27 Protein: 8 Fiber: 2 (Net Carbs: 5)

3 thoughts on “MAKJ – Low Carb Cheesecake – Updated

    1. Oh, it is tasty! I think I added a bit too much lemon but it sure was good (better than the pumpkin pie). I just keep slipping in the kitchen and grabbing a sliver … don’t know why I haven’t lost weight so far this week since it’s just about all I’m eating! LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

