Low Carb Pumpkin Pie – Updated Again

Remember, I never said I was a photographer but here is my pie!  I finally made this, 2 years later.  🙂  But next time I’ll maybe reduce the Splenda.  It gave it a slightly bitter taste (but from my perspective it was better than having no pumpkin pie at all). After more trial and error, I think I have made the perfect (well, to me) low carb pumpkin pie.

I figured out why it was bitter.

  1. I used canned pumpkin. Have you ever tasted it straight out of the can? It’s like they took unripe pumpkins and threw some orange food coloring in there. It is awful and I will do my best to grow my own next year.  This means less sweetener will be needed when I make this again.
  2. I had the sugar amount wrong! It was HALF what it should have been! So, this recipe has been corrected.

2013-11-28_13-15-19_113

I was looking around and … I have not been happy with too many recipes out there. Why completely change what has worked forever (or, at least since I’ve been around)? I don’t know the carb counts. I do know that pumpkin is lower in carbs than sweet potatoes AND butternut squash (my MIL uses this instead of pumpkin).

So, take the standard pumpkin pie recipe (my changes are in bold):

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/libbys-famous-pumpkin-pie/detail.aspx

Libby’s® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Rated:
Prep Time: 10 Minutes
Ready In: 1 Hour 10 Minutes
Submitted By: Libby’s® Pumpkin
Cook Time: 1 Hour
Servings: 8

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 (9 inch) Pecan Praline Crust (see below)
  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar (1 1/2 cup Splenda, Truvia, or Stevia equivalent)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (15 ounce) can LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin (or 2 cups well drained pumpkin puree)
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can NESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk (12 ounces Heavy Cream)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
2. Combine sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs lightly in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. Pour into pie shell.
3. Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees F.; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate. (Do not freeze as this will cause the crust to separate from the filling.)

Pecan Praline Crust

Praline Crust:

  • 6 tablespoons hot melted butter
  • 1 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans (this would be good with any nuts)
  • 1 1/2 cup Splenda (or sugar, if that is not an issue for you)
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt (approximate)
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground cinnamon (approximate) (This is optional but it almost tastes like brown sugar has been added)

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Make the crust: Mix the dry ingredients first. Pour melted butter over the dry ingredients, then mix thoroughly. Press it evenly into the bottom of a deep-dish pie pan or generously buttered spring-form pan (I used a flat bottomed glass since my finger inevitably pokes through the bottom of the crust). Do not try to run this crust up the sides (like I tried to in the above pictures). When you bake it, it just falls all over the place. This does best simply on the bottom of the pie, similar to a cheesecake crust. Bake for 15 minutes, or until set. Remove crust from oven and allow to cool completely.

And to finish it off:

Low Carb Fresh Whipped Cream:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a cold bowl, whip the heavy cream just until frothy. While still whipping, slowly add the Splenda and vanilla. Continue to whip until peaks form. Be careful not to over-whip or cream will break and you’ll end up with sweet, vanilla butter.

Leave a Reply

