How To Make Flour Subtitutes

Boy, I’ve been slacking.  I haven’t posted about how to make nut/seed flours!  I don’t make them very often but with the next post I’m going to make, knowing how to do this will save you TONS of money.  A while ago, I posted a recipe that called for almond flour on Facebook.  One of the responses I got was, “Do you know how expensive that is?”  Well, no.  I had never bought any.  So, I looked the next time I went to the store.  Dear Lord!  $9 for a bag that would be used with just two of the recipes I have collected over the years!  Just buy the nuts and make your own!

This one focuses on nuts and seeds (and she talks about using chia as an egg substitute):

http://lexieskitchen.com/lexies_kitchen/2012/4/24/how-to-make-nut-and-seed-flours.html

And this one discusses gluten-free flour substitutes (not just low carb):

http://www.attunefoods.com/blog/2013/04/how-to-make-your-own-gluten-free-flours-in-3-minutes-or-less/

One thought on “How To Make Flour Subtitutes

Leave a Reply

