UPDATE: “Healthified” Tortilla

Well, this one only took me 3 months to make but I finally did. Today. I did two things different with the ingredients. One: I used kosher salt and it needed more (I don’t have sea salt). Two: After letting the dough rest for about 10 minutes (I did it with almond flour), it was still rather sticky. So, I mixed in about 2 Tablespoons of fat (butter because it was there).

Now, these are like corn tortillas (not flour). The texture (because I just love tortillas) is a bit spongy (you can tell there’s egg in it by the texture) and there really isn’t a lot of flavor but the strange thing is, standing over the bowl of raw dough, it smelled just like masa. As you know from previous posts, I don’t have parchment paper. I also don’t have a tortilla press and this is not the kind of dough you want to roll out. So, how do you do it? Take a gallon Ziploc bag, cut down the sides and open it. Place a ball of dough in the middle, fold the other half of the bag over the dough, then use a flat-bottomed heavy pot or pan (I used my heavy cast iron skillet) to press down on the dough. Wiggle it around so you know you have applied the same amount of pressure all over the dough. THEN (this helped a lot as my kitchen began heating up), place the pressed dough in the fridge for a few minutes. Once it’s cooled, you SHOULD be able to gently peel back the top piece of plastic, then gently peel the tortilla off the bottom piece (starting at the edge and pulling on the plastic, not the dough). If it still sticks like crazy (don’t worry, you can kinda press it back together with your fingers), before you press your next dough ball, rub some fat on the plastic bag. As your tortilla is cooking, press another dough ball and put it into the fridge until your tortilla is finished cooking. This dough is close enough for me to continue to play with. I wonder if I can get away with using only one egg? Too bad I can’t figure out how to get the lyme-y flavor that masa has. I’ll continue to play with it (I now have 8 more tortillas to eat first) … heck, I could fry them and make chips out of them! Yeah, then all 8 will be gone in 30 minutes! I better not! LOL!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, I took a look at masa. There are 26 g of carbs in 1/4 cup, which (if you make 10 tortillas) would only add about 2 carbs per tortilla. I’m going to play (after these are eaten … I hate forcing myself to eat something that I don’t love but at least they aren’t disgusting).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Originally shared September 24, 2013:

Look what I found!  It looks like a great substitute for corn tortillas (scroll down once you click the link). AND they look sturdy enough to be used in enchiladas!

http://mariamindbodyhealth.com/mahi-mahi-fish-tacos/

1¼ cup blanched almond flour (or ¾ cup coconut flour)
5 TBS psyllium husk powder
1 tsp Celtic sea salt
2 eggs (4 if using coconut flour)
1 cup water (or Marinara – for “tomato basil” flavor)

Notes
NUTRITIONAL COMPARISON (per tortilla)
Traditional Tortilla = 140 calories, 3g fat, 4g protein, 25 carbs, trace fiber
Almond Flour Tortilla = 105 calories, 7.5g fat, 4.1g protein, 5.6g carb, 3.8g fiber (1.8 effective carbs)
Coconut Flour Tortilla = 71 calories, 2.6g fat, 3.4g protein, 7.4g carbs, 5.2g fiber (2.2 effective carbs)

One thought on “UPDATE: “Healthified” Tortilla

Leave a Reply

