Journal-ish Parent Whine

I need to whine to someone and it doesn’t feel right doing it on Facebook (again) with so much of my family on there (I don’t think any of them read my blog, so I’m safe).

When my mom gets bored, she comes over here and hangs out for a few hours. Our relationship used to revolve around food. When I know a day or so ahead of time, I’ll feed her here but most of the time, I don’t find out until she calls me at 7 am. Now that I’m thinking about it, it’s kind of like an affair. She only calls and/or comes over when hubby’s not home! lol

Anyway, this is about the 10th time (probably more than that) we’ve had this discussion:

My mom: “I don’t understand why you can’t eat at the salad bar.”

Me: “It’s not that I can’t, I choose not to.”

My mom: “Why?”

Me: “Because with everything I would add to my salad, it would be too many carbs.”

My mom: “What about fruit?”

Me: “Oh, that’s even worse!”

My mom: “So, you don’t eat any fruit?”

Me: “No”

My mom: “Not even a banana? That’s just stupid.”

Me: “No. Let me put it to you this way. I can either not eat the fruit or eat the fruit and take diabetes meds. Which one would you prefer? (dumb question)”

My mom: “The fruit”

Me: “Well, I prefer to not be on meds.”

We have this exact same conversation at least twice a month and it’s just so irritating I want to scream! She also has type 2 diabetes and still eats whatever she wants because she’s taking her pills. Heck, I even know someone who is type 1 who just ups her insulin so she can have that ice cream or cake. And they look at me like I’m crazy! I like having feeling in my toes and no cataracts, thank you very much! I don’t ever tell others how to eat or exercise or live. I may bitch in private but I don’t preach to any of them and I’m so tired of them preaching to me. All this despite the fact that they have seen first hand how much healthier I am and how fit I’m becoming. O.k. I think I’m done. I’m now going to try making some low carb soft tortillas (I looked up those ones you suggested, http://weight2lose2013.wordpress.com/ but they don’t carry them here). I’ll let you all know if they end up tasting like cardboard (and they are not the cauliflower ones I’ve seen … that just sounds nasty).

9 thoughts on “Journal-ish Parent Whine

  1. hehe parents are interesting… I don’t know what it’s like to be one yet but I went and had dinner with my mom the other day… I order fish and she insists not to order it because she says I wont like it… I ask her “How do you know that…? I love fish” lol I think sometimes they miss parenting us. I imagine as a parent when your seed grows older you start to miss being a parent.

    Like

  2. I had to get my tacos on Ebay. AND I had to buy a case of 72. 72 of them! I’m trying to figure out novel ways of using them before they go bad! lol They taste good, but they are very thin. I was surprised that they didn’t all crack in shipping. As a matter of fact, very few of them did.

    Good luck!

    Rob

    Like

      1. Yeah, it’s my lack of patience rearing its ugly head again. I didn’t want to wait for a more reasonable amount to become available, so I went for it. I have a foodsaver that i don’t use much, I wonder if I can shrink wrap the package to keep it fresh?

        Like

      2. Yeah, I’m the same way (if I won the lottery, I’d buy out Costco just because I wouldn’t know when certain items would disappear). I love my foodsaver! You could do that! Just don’t suck it down all the way (heck, you could do the box and all).

        Like

Leave a Reply

