February 2, 2014 Update – Let’s Talk Poo

Not only is it Groundhog Day (I guess we get to see 6 more weeks of Winter, which is fine with me as long as it involves more rain … California) but it’s Superbowl Sunday (which has absolutely no significance to me whatsoever except the television will NOT be on at all today) AND the day I finally have the time (and proper amount of sleep) to post my update (funny, as I was uploading my stats I realized all this year it was still 2013 to me).

I somehow managed to lose a little more weight from last week’s weigh-in (dropped .6 pounds) and this brings my to the subject of poo … bowel movements.  Last week’s massive weight loss was from eating WAY too many Mc Donald’s Mc Double cheeseburgers in one sitting and I’ve been paying for it all week.  Not only that but one day I got on a complete tangent (I can’t remember which blog post it was) but I forgot to eat.  Yes, I forgot and ended up with the shakes by 2 pm, when I ate one hard boiled egg (I had to finish my research and post my blog, don’t you know).  Needless to say, I scarfed as much as could around dinner time to bring my calories/fat/proteins into alignment and, when that didn’t completely get rid of the shaking, ate too many carbs (I ended up eating roughly 52 by the time my shakes subsided, more than double my normal intake).

Thus began more intestinal distress and bloating.  I went from 179.8 to 184.6 to slowly dropping down.  Not only did the scale jump around like it was on a trampoline, so did my bowels.  Whenever I have really loose stool, the next day it’s as if my body says, “Now that they are empty, I’m going to hold onto your stool for dear life.”  So, I rubber band between really loose to constipation and everywhere in between until things are normal again.

I’ve tried psyllium husk but even at small amounts (since I eat so few vegetables) it keeps this roller coaster going.  What I discovered (but obviously forgot this week.  Thankfully it popped in my head this morning) was finding the vegetables that I enjoy and only eating small amounts every day.  So, let’s say the serving is half a cup, then I’ll eat about 1/4 cup, just to keep things running smoothly (you can’t tell me I’m not eating enough fat @ 65-70% of my calories).  So, in my fridge is a batch of BLT Cauliflower Salad with more eggs and bacon plus no tomatoes, since I didn’t have any.

So, if you are like me and have intestinal discomfort from time to time, try to remember to eat SOME veggies every day.  Your body (and toilet) will thank you for it!

Leave a Reply

