“Not So Good” Cream Cheese Baking Fest

Well, I finally did it!  I used up that cheap cheesecake and I have to say, everything turned out wonderful!

2014-02-26_10-43-04_235

First was the CiCi’s Cheesecake Cookies.  I made them exactly the way it said to in the recipe and they are dang good.  Everyone in the house said so (not just me … I lied.  My mom didn’t like any of it but she doesn’t live here so she doesn’t have to eat any of it ~grin~).  Even when they are just out of the oven, they are good.  One warning, though.  They never really firm up (I’m having to scrape them off the plate).  Another thing: how they got 60 cookies I will never know (unless they used about a level teaspoon per cookie).  I used standard heaping teaspoon and got 21.

Next was Food Storie’s Scones With Almond Flour

2014-02-26_11-07-08_501

These are by far the best bread like something I have made … ever.  These tasted like biscuits (and you slather them with butter … heaven!).  Now, since I don’t use any sugar free syrups, I added 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup of Splenda.  I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla.  This was a batter.  I probably could have added a bit more almond flour but I was running low (I had already made the Basic Nut Crust so had blown through quite a bit of almond flour/meal).  Because the batter was so wet, I used a standard ice cream scoop and got 13 scones.  Now, they look dramatically different than those pictured in the recipe link mostly because I make my own almond flour (which is a little closer to meal).  I then made the cream cheese spread and boy is that good!  I kept it straight so I could judge the actual recipe (though some fruit in the would be awesome).

2014-02-26_15-21-53_350

And since the nut crust had cooled off by now, it was time to make Cheesecake.  A note: I changed both of these recipes today.  I looked around a bit more and realized that I had made some errors when it came to sweetener amounts (and lemon amount for the cheesecake).   This time I used a 9-inch non spring form pan (I don’t know what they are called … the pan is like a tart pan but not fluted) and it’s not deep, so between the crust (I should have halved the crust recipe) and the filling, it went right to the rim.  Then, I spooned 2 teaspoons of Smucker’s Sugar-Free Boysenberry Jam in the middle, trying to be all fancy.  I swirled it out with a bamboo skewer and by the time I was done, I thought it looked like a boysenberry threw up on my cheesecake.  I have to say, the cooked version looks much better!

Leave a Reply

