March 25, 2014 Update

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since my last update.  I have been running around like a chicken with their head cut off.  Imagine, if you will, a child left alone for the first time (just neater).  That’s the way it has felt since my son moved out!  😀  There is so much to do and just not enough hours in the day to do them!  My stats don’t seem to show much (up 2.4 pounds, down 1 inch on my chest and waist, up 1/2 inch on my thighs and calf and, once again, forgot to take my morning blood sugar reading) but I’m telling you, I can see and feel a huge difference!  When I look down at my thighs, I see muscles.  I can feel muscles in my biceps and shoulders.  I can really feel collar bones and my butt!  LOL!  I didn’t realize there were muscles amongst the flab!  Something else, too.  When I was measuring my upper belly roll I realized just how much lower it is (if that makes any sense).  I decided to lift my shirt and tighten my stomach.  Above that roll, the stretch marks could almost be mistaken for abs!

My weight training has been progressing nicely.  It’s hard for me to believe that it has been almost (at the end of the month) three months since beginning Reg Park’s 5X5!  I’ve stuck with something that long!  Last week I added yoga (last video of my You Tube playlist and today I added Glute Bridges since I come from a long line of flat butts and figured I should start now.  The yoga will be my non-weight training and the Glute Bridges?  I did o.k. doing them at the end of my workout today, so we’ll see if I can keep those up.  I will tell you that the yoga actually made me sore!  I did that (for the first time since I actually owned a VCR and was about 60 pounds heavier than I am now) on Friday and rested until today because my waist was STILL sore yesterday!

Eating-wise, I’m still bouncing my carbs around (a couple of days last week I only had 8 for the day … we discovered a new-to-us butcher shop and had two glorious days of nothing but meat with some cheese thrown in for the carbs/fat).  I’m telling you, that was the best tri-tip I’ve ever had!  Aside from the seasoning (best pre-seasoned meat we’ve had, also) I think it was aged.  That is the only thing to explain the color of the meat, the texture, and the flavor.  It was amazing!  By the way, here’s an article about dry-aging meat at home.

That’s it for this week.  No, I’m off to do some more weaving!  🙂  I hope you are having a fantastic week!

3 thoughts on “March 25, 2014 Update

  1. How is it that something so seemingly innocent can be a real pooper? I checked out the RW link earlier and thought that it looked simple enough, but was pooped by the 5 minute mark. (I’m no where near ready to even try that glute bridge though!!! Maybe with a broomstick lol)

    Like

    1. HA! Well, my rear is already a bit sore and that was only with a 5 pound plate on me. The very first time I did that yoga video, I lasted about that long (that was just after I got it … as in, when it first came out). Isn’t it amazing how basically standing there can wipe you out? And, after all that huffing and puffing, who needs cardio? lol

      Like

      1. I’m definitely going to give it another try, maybe make it past the warm up next time. As for the the glute bridges, I’m going to need more hip thrust practice before I could see myself doing 5 extra ounces. (I seriously thought squats and lunges were all I needed, not much progress though, so I thank you for the link)

        Like

Leave a Reply

