Pork Heart and Liver

Aside from chicken heart and liver, plus the occasional (as in three times in my life) beef liver I have never dealt extensively with these organ meats.  Well, I just found out yesterday that I am being gifted a fresh pig heart and liver (from someone I actually know)!  Someone purchased (and slaughtered) a pig from them but didn’t want the heart and liver and I get them!  I’m so excited!

So, this morning I’ve been scouring the internet for recipes and have narrowed it down to two for the heart and one for the liver.  I wish I could recreate the recipe for liver I had in Belgium but it was homemade and the chef (my friend’s cousin) didn’t speak English.  That was the first time I had liver that tasted just like “meat” … not grainy, mushy liver.

So, here’s the one for liver:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIzYBw61lZE

Hot Pork Liver, Sichuan Style

200 g pork liver, cut in thin slices
soy sauce for marinade
corn starch for coating

1 onion, cut in thin slices
2 tbsp red pepper, sliced
2 tsp chilli, sliced
1 cm ginger, sliced
2 cloves garlic, sliced

oil for frying

Sauce:
3 tbsp water
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbps ketchup
1 tsp salt
1 tsp corn starch

1 tsp szechuan pepper, or crushed black pepper corn

And these are the two pork heart recipes I’ve found:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/slow-cooked-heart-on-fire-with-creamed-kale/#axzz2xdUdynO6

1-2 hearts
2 chopped carrots
3 chopped celery hearts
1 chopped onion
2-3 (depending of size) chopped garlic cloves
3 chopped jalapenos (de-seeded to tame the spiciness)
3/4 cup coconut flakes
1 teaspoon cayenne powder
1 teaspoon chilli powder
1 teaspoon red pepper
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon cloves
2 teaspoons cilantro flakes (or 1-2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh cilantro)
1 large bunch of kale, sliced
1/2 can of coconut milk

And this one: http://www.tastingportugal.com/stewed-pigs-heart/

1 Pig’s heart
1 large onion
1 large tomato
2 garlic cloves
2 bay leaves
5 Tbsp of Olive Oil
5 Tbsp of water or white wine
Salt
Pepper

I’m not sure which one I’ll do for the heart (probably the second, since it is simpler) but I’ll let you know. Do you have a favorite recipe for these organ meats?

Leave a Reply

