Dinner Last Night: Burgers and Broccoli Mash

Now, these burgers would have been fantastic on the barbecue (and would have been even better if they weren’t so spicy they punched a hole in hubby’s stomach after one bite). I made these up because there are times when I just get REALLY TIRED of straight-up hamburger. And the Mashed Broccoli? I really liked it, especially after I added about 2 tablespoons of heavy cream to my bowl just before eating.

MAKJ Blazing Burgers (not as low carb as I thought now that I’ve input the recipe into MFP)

1 pound ground beef
1/3 cup Yoshidas Marinade and Cooking Sauce *
1 4-ounce can of diced jalapenos (I used Ortega)
1 Tablespoon dried minced onion (or about 1/2 medium onion, diced)
1 Tablespoon garlic powder

Place everything except the ground beef in a bowl. Mix well and let sit for a few hours (to overnight in the fridge). When ready to cook dinner, mix up the ground beef with everything in the bowl. Form patties (I made 4). If they are a little too sloppy, place the patties in the freezer until ready to cook. I fried these in a non-stick skillet and even then, I had to add fat to prevent them from sticking (the sugars in the Yoshidas) BUT, these would be fantastic on the grill!

* A note about Yoshidas: it is higher in carbs, since it does contain corn syrup. Why did I use that? Well, it was here. You could substitute just about any sauce you like, such as soy sauce, coconut aminos, Worcestershire sauce, etc. That will change the nutritional information I have included with this recipe (and you may not want to add the same amount, since they all vary in strength).

Serving size: 1 burger (1/4 pound)

Input in My Fitness Pal as “MAKJ Blazing Burgers”

Per Serving: Calories: 338 Carbohydrates: 17 Fat: 16 Protein: 29 Fiber: 0

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MAKJ Broccoli Mash

I felt like mashed potatoes, had some broccoli that needed to be cooked, so this is what I ended up with.

1 head of broccoli, cut up (about 8 cups)
8 cups of liquid (I use chicken broth to cook my broccoli and that will be reflected in the nutritional information below)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 Tablespoons butter
1/2 cup cream (optional and to taste/texture)
Salt and Pepper, to taste

Add the broccoli to a pot. Pour the liquid over it and turn the burner on medium-high. Cook until done (you can easily poke the broccoli with a fork but it’s still bright green). Drain (I save the liquid and drink it the next day). Place the well-drained broccoli in a food processor and process until smooth (you might need to add some liquid to accomplish this). Scrape into a bowl, add butter, cheese, and finish it up with the cream and salt and pepper. I’m going to experiment with the extra broccoli … thinking broccoli pancakes (similar to potato pancakes). Not sure how to do those nutritional numbers, if they turn out (may end up being an utter failure).

Serving size: 1 cup

Entered into My Fitness Pal as

Per Serving: Calories: 137 Carbohydrates: 6 Fat: 10 Protein: 4 Fiber: 2 (net carbs: 4)

Leave a Reply

