Cauliflower Mash Dishes

I have to admit.  I’ve only tried it a couple of times but I haven’t been a fan of substituting cauliflower for rice or mashed potatoes, mostly because no matter what, it still tastes like cauliflower.

So, today one of my Atkins friends asked for ideas for 2 head of cauliflower.  I told her that I usually eat cauliflower if it’s raw or drowned in cheese.  Then, my up-at-2 am-coughing brain started working.  What if you took mashed cauliflower and put a whole mess of goodness in there, put it in a baking dish, covered with cheese and baked it?  It would be like Twice-Baked potatoes, but with cauliflower (and enough goodness to disguise the flavor of the cauliflower).

It turns out I’m not special.  Look what I found:

http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2006/09/twice-baked-cauliflower-recipe.html

Ingredients (you should know me well enough to know, use full fat everything):
1 large head cauliflower
4 oz. low fat cream cheese (do not use fat free)
1/2 cup low fat sour cream (do not use fat free)
1/4 cup minced green onions
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (If you only have finely grated Parmesan, use a bit less)
6 slices bacon, cooked until very crisp, fat blotted with paper towel and then crumbled
1 cup reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese
(I used Kraft 2% milk sharp cheddar)

Then my friend exclaims “TATER TOTS”. I had to look that up. I hadn’t heard of it. Well, there are quite a few ways to do these, so I’ll post the links and recipes to three ways. I think these brilliant women have changed my mind about cauliflower!

http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2014/03/cheesy-baked-cauliflower-tots.html

Ingredients:
1/2 large head caulflower, coarsely chopped
1/3 cup reduced-fat sharp cheddar
1/4 cup coarsely grated Parmesan cheese
2 T almond flour
1/2 tsp. Vege-Sal (or a slightly smaller amount of salt)
1/2 tsp. Spike Seasoning (Probably optional, but it does add flavor. You can substitute another all-purpose seasoning blend that tastes good with cauliflower)
fresh-ground black pepper to taste
1 egg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

http://www.ibreatheimhungry.com/2012/01/cauliflower-tater-tots.html

1 medium head of cauliflower
2 Tbl heavy cream
2 Tbl butter
1/3 cup shredded sharp cheddar
4 egg whites
salt & pepper to taste
oil for frying

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

www.slenderkitchen.com/cauliflower-tots/

3 cups cauliflower rice
1 egg
1 egg white
1/2 cup low fat shredded cheese (I used pepper jack)
Salt and pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

