May 28, 2014 Update – Slap Upside The Head

I have updated my stats today. My husband and I have been going through some personal issues for the past few months. I’ve been barely checking my blood sugar … mostly doing it if I felt off (and, since the readings were always good, I kept doing that). Well, yesterday was different. I got some news disturbing news and was deep-down angry all day. That lead me to not be hungry, thus I didn’t eat. No, I take that back. I had a (as in one) piece of beef jerky (Jack Link’s Peppered Beef Jerky is awesome and only 4 total carbs per serving) and tried a piece of bacon jerky (yes, it’s just cooked bacon in a bag and I didn’t like it … I should have known something was wrong).

After a cleansing hour drive out of town, it was time for dinner. I felt a little off, so checked my blood sugar. It was 52. I ate dinner and after an hour, it was 152, then 90 after 2 hours. That’s great, right? Well, yes, it was. Then, this morning, my blood sugar was 55. I need to check every morning but I have a problem. I have been suffering with my allergies since February and tend to wake up after 3 to 4 hours sleep and, since I usually eat dinner late, I can’t get a true fasting blood sugar (and everyone who knows me know I cannot function on that little sleep without coffee).

So, I HAVE to eat dinner earlier if I’m going to keep waking up at the “witching hour”.

On my physical training front, I’m back on track. I trained last Wednesday for the first time in over a month and it took me until Sunday to recover (as in I didn’t need to use my arms to lower myself down onto a chair). I have switched to 100% cable exercises, hoping to not aggravate my shoulder. I can definitely feel the difference. The moves are more focused on specific muscles, so I squat and immediately feel it in my hamstrings/glutes. Perhaps this is what I should have started with (if I had my machine at the time), since I’m 40+ and the only time in my life (before beginning this journey again last year) I had trained with weights was in high school.

AND I may be having someone take some pictures of me this week. I’m actually (again, first time since high school) making an article of clothing with an actual pattern! The first one is just a pair of pajama pants but THEY ARE SIZE 12!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t tell you how many patterns I have purchased through the years, intending to make them, that are now WAY too large (most are size 22/24). I’m sure I can’t resize those patterns this much (especially since I really am a newbie when it comes to working with patterns) but … WOW! 🙂

O.k. Time to check my blood sugar again, then do my weight training, then finish my pajama pants (which is the easiest pattern I’ve seen … no drawstring, just elastic).

2 thoughts on “May 28, 2014 Update – Slap Upside The Head

    1. Oh, see, I’m not even officially a size 12 until I can wear jeans without a muffin top (and still breathe while sitting). If I bypass 12 to a 10 … I just may pass out! 🙂 But you know how much I love to go shopping … I may end up being a size 8 before I walk into a store (wouldn’t that be sweet? lol).

      Like

Leave a Reply

