Product Review: Cibo Naturals Artichoke Lemon Pesto

Artichoke Lemon Pesto, 6 oz. (2 pack)

So, I’m at Costco. I’m looking for Casper’s Hot Dogs (which my local Costco carries once a year or so) and I run into a woman who is grabbing a jar of this Artichoke Lemon Pesto. I stand there, mouth hanging open, beginning to drool and ask her how she likes it. Oh, she then goes on to tell me how wonderful it is and she just throws some on pasta without having to add anything else. So, I buy it and the jar sits (unopened) in my fridge with me trying to figure out what to do with it.

So, since I have leapt off the keto wagon (and gained, now, 7 pounds though retained my normal blood sugar levels), I thought I would try this stuff out in scrambled eggs. It was o.k. You open up the jar and all you can smell is cheese. That’s good. I was expecting a strong lemon smell and flavor. Once you taste it on its own, you can’t even taste the lemon. It’s mild. So mild that, if I were to use it again with eggs, I would warm it up slightly and pour it on top of the eggs.

I’m going to try it tonight on chicken breasts. I take frozen chicken breasts and brine them with a ratio of 1/2 cup kosher salt to one gallon of water and let that sit for about 8 hours-ish. Then, I cook them on a George Foreman grill (if I don’t want to use the barbecue). You don’t need any other seasonings (and I really hate white meat poultry) and the chicken turns out REALLY moist! I figure I could just slice up the breasts and pour some of this over the chicken. I bet this would be great on some pork or veal, too.

You really should try some if you find it. It’s something different and 1/4 cup only has 3 total carbs, 3 grams of protein and 21 grams of fat! 🙂

UPDATE: This was FANTASTIC on the grilled chicken breasts!  I just sliced up the chicken, poured a couple of tablespoons of room temperature pesto over the top and that was it!  This stuff (whether you purchase it or find a recipe online) is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

