Happy New Year!

grumpy-cat-happy-birthday-gif-i8newyearsWell, it’s that time of year again.  I see a lot of new visits and, having been MIA for few months, it’s time for me to stop hibernating and start posting more recipes (right?).

This post is for any new readers (and old ones who feel stuck).  I truly believe that no single way of eating is appropriate for everyone.  Anyone who says that is delusional or just wants your money.  What we each need to do is to find what makes our bodies the happiest.

I know some people who feel their best following Weight Watchers.  I know some who follow the newer version of Atkins (seems there is an even newer version, which I have not looked into, called Atkins 40 or something along those lines) and do quite well.  I know some who are straight up paleo who are doing fantastic and others who need to maintain a low carbohydrate way of eating in order to maintain their optimum health.

What I’m trying to say is, if something isn’t working for you, you don’t have to abandon it: play with it.  If I had stuck with just one option, I would have never achieved the level of health I have.  In August of 2013, I was a recluse.  I could not go out in public without a face mask (due to my many allergies, from perfumes to cleaners to foods).  As of today, despite being 11 pounds heavier than my lowest weight, I am virtually allergy free AND my blood sugars have remained in check. All that despite straying away from my nutritional ketogenic way of eating (high fat, moderate protein, low carb).  I can even eat potatoes and regular bread with no health consequences (as long as I don’t mind putting on a little weight).

What I hope for all of you is for you to decide this year is the year you will commit to becoming the healthiest version of you.  Do not compare yourself to others.  Compare yourself to you.  Any progress is better than no progress at all.

So, what do you say?  Shall we both begin 2015 on a healthier note?  I’ll setup some recipes that I’ve been hoarding away to post over the next couple of weeks (roughly 2 per day).  That should give you some ideas about the variety of foods that can be had in any low carbohydrate way of eating.  Who wants to live on hamburger patties and eggs?

Leave a Reply

